WSU HOOPS

visit us now at cougcenter.com!

Hey everybody – I’m an expert!

Posted by Jeff Nusser on February 27, 2008

I truly was unaware. But don’t take my word for it. Take his (or at least his headline writer’s):

You’ll recognize that snazzy mug as that of Seattle Post-Intelligencer Go 2 Guy Jim Moore. He and I were e-mailing back and forth a little this week, talking about the team, and the result is a mention of WSU HOOPS in his column tomorrow, which is already up on the P-I’s Web site.

I get mentioned alongside such luminaries as Bud Nameck, John Blanchette, Ken Pomeroy and some guy named Tim Floyd. Pretty cool accomplishment for the site if I do say so myself. For the record, besides spouting my favorite statistics, I also said I thought this year’s team was better, largely because of its offensive prowess.

I’ve befriended Moore in the past year through our mutual Coug fandom and in collaborating with him through my work with the Washington Journalism Education Association. Many thanks to him for the shout out. He really is as good of a guy as he appears in print. And I think he’s spot on with his perspective on this year, something I’ve been advocating for all along — enjoy this ride, because you never know when it’s going to come around again.

If you’re new here thanks to Moore, have a look and feel free to stick around for a while. This is the post that was the impetus behind most of our conversation; it will give you a good introduction into what we’re all about. And this post flowed out of our conversation about potential seeding. We’ll have a preview/game thread up for Thursday’s contest against Cal, so come back for that, too.

7 Responses to “Hey everybody – I’m an expert!”

  1. Michelle said

    Congrats on the shout out Nuss!!

  2. Longball said

    I am jealous that you get to pal around with the Go To Guy. Living in Seattle for the last 9 years, his column has kept from leaping off the Aurora Bridge quite a few times.

  3. Nuss said

    I wouldn’t exactly say we pal around, but it’s enough that I can say he’s a very cool guy. He’s a very approachable guy — the “man of the people” persona he portrays in his column really is what he’s like — so if you ever run into him at a sporting event introduce yourself and strike up a conversation about the Cougs. There is nothing he likes talking about more. Which makes him just like us.

  4. Larry said

    I’m curious as to the nature of your “expertise”

  5. Nuss said

    Not sure if you’re being facetious, but if not … click here. Basically, I watch a lot of basketball and I used to be a full-time journalist. And I read. A lot.

  6. Larry said

    Oh I get it. You are an expert on Washington State basketball. What kind of seed you think WSU will get in the NCAA’s? Let’s hypothetically say they win this week and win 2 games in the Pac-10 tourney. I’m curious to see if your passion for WSU clouds your judgement.

  7. Nuss said

    I’ll have a full post on the various scenarios either this evening or tomorrow, so you’ll have to check back then!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
