WSU HOOPS

visit us now at cougcenter.com!

Totally unrelated to WSU, but cool anyway

Posted by Jeff Nusser on February 8, 2008

As I was perusing some stats at kenpom.com, I noticed that the national leader in blocked shot percentage was blocking 20 percent of the 2-point shots while he’s on the floor.

Digest that for a second. One out of every five 2-point shots that is put up while this guy is on the floor is blocked by him. Not the team. By him. Just one guy.

Turns out the guy’s name is Kenny George, and he plays for UNC-Ashville. I had never heard of him before. I’m not sure why, because he’s 7-foot-7. Check out this video of him. You seriously can’t make stuff like this up.

When you finally pick your jaw up off the floor, you can check out this ESPN feature on him. Unreal.

4 Responses to “Totally unrelated to WSU, but cool anyway”

  1. Eric said

    I remember what it was like playing on an 8 foot hoop in grade school, too. But is he playing in a midget league or something?

  2. Nuss said

    That’s the thing that struck me instantly. Those other guys are probably in the 6-foot-7 to 6-foot-9 range … too crazy.

  3. Jo-Jo said

    I’m surprised you’ve never heard of this guy since your such a UNC fan. This is the dude that Hansbrough posterized about a month ago and got tons of pub.

    Check this out:

    That is the embeded coded for the video. You’ll have to explain to me how to get it to work on the site.

    Anyway, that’s the difference between being tall and being good.

  4. Nuss said

    Yeah, I saw that last night. Hadn’t seen that before — I just don’t get to watch as much general college hoops as I used to with the new job this year. I also am not as big of a Heels fan as I used to be. I was more of a Dean Smith guy. Plus, now I have my own good team to root for, which is kinda nice.

    Oh, and nice pic, hippie! You like that photo from Barn Bash? We were so dang young …

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
