WSU HOOPS

visit us now at cougcenter.com!

Cougs up to No. 5 on my BlogPoll ballot

Posted by Jeff Nusser on November 27, 2007

After casting my Week Three BlogPoll ballot last night — the full poll from all 15 bloggers will be released later tonight — two things became abundantly clear very quickly:

  1. We still don’t know a whole lot.
  2. The parity that has created so much upheaval in the BCS this year might just be the tip of it for college basketball.

There simply doesn’t appear to be a real dominant team this year. It might shake out that UNC, Memphis, UCLA or Kansas get on a real roll at some point and separate themselves from the pack. But I get the sense that this is going to be a crazy year.

I also get the sense that not a whole heck of a lot separates Nos. 5 through 15 and 16-25. (Or 16-40, for that matter.) There are a lot of teams that are just very similar right now, and it’s pretty much impossible to distinguish between most of them.

Case in point: How many of you really believe that WSU, who I’ve got No. 5, is distinguishably better than Tennessee, who I’ve got at No. 16? The margin is so small, and I don’t think that’s going to change much as the year goes along. If anything, upsets are going to make it more difficult to figure out who’s for real, and who isn’t.

So, with that, here is my BlogPoll ballot for Week Three of the college basketball season. I voted last night after all of the games had finished:

Top 25 Week 3

4 Responses to “Cougs up to No. 5 on my BlogPoll ballot”

  1. Longball said

    After watching Duke dismantle Wisconsin tonight i feel a bit insecure about our ranking. Then again, as a Coug fan, any time i feel comfortble with a top 10 ranking in anything other than Rodeo, please slap me. I just hope we can hold up inside against the bigger teams we play, but i am pretty confident that once again, nobody is going to run and gun on us.

  2. Nuss said

    At least you don’t feel like a little bit of a bonehead for ranking Wisconsin No. 20 before that absolute beatdown. With regards to Duke, I actually think the Cougs would match up pretty well with them — the Blue Devils are incredibly perimeter oriented, and if you can contain that, you can contain them.

    The teams the Cougs will probably struggle with are teams with skilled, active big men. Fortunately, those teams are few and far between in the NCAA. Unfortunately, the best skilled, active big man in the country is in our conference. Bummer.

  3. DrPezz said

    I think we are simply in an age of wide open basketball because so many talented players leave school early. While I would guess the usual suspects will hang around the top of the rankings all year long, I expect a number of second-tier or smaller schools to hang around the top 25 and cause some major havoc in the tournament.

    Those small conference schools are catching up quickly because of the big schools’ players exiting early, which allows the smaller schools to build more cohesion by keeping their kids longer. Systems coaches can really create true teams at these traditionally overlooked universities.

    I wouldn’t be surprised to see George Mason, Xavier, and Southern Illinois continue to make teams quite nervous, especially when tourney time arrives.

  4. DrPezz said

    I forgot to mention St. Mary’s and Davidson. I hesitate to mention Gonzaga because they really aren’t a sleeper any more even though they are a small school. I just think they’ll make another early exit.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
