WSU HOOPS

visit us now at cougcenter.com!

Harris found dead in Brazil

Posted by Jeff Nusser on November 19, 2007

In what is the worst possible ending to a most bizarre story, officials found what they believe to be the body of former WSU basketball player Tony Harris yesterday in Brazil.

There will be tests to confirm his identity, but based on physical description and clothing, police believe it’s Harris. A sad day for all.

6 Responses to “Harris found dead in Brazil”

  1. glynis harps said

    Hi my name is Glynis I am Tony Harris sister in law I am married to Tony’s older brother. Is there any plans to maybe retire his jersey? I know that the family would really be honored. thanks for your time

  2. Nuss said

    Honestly, I have no idea. I don’t believe any numbers have been retired at WSU in either football or basketball, so I’d say the chances are pretty unlikely.

    I’m sorry for your loss. It seems like Tony was a genuinely nice guy.

  3. Gabe DeMiero said

    Glynis: I am positive I can speak for the entire Cougar community when I say our thoughts and prayers are with your family.

    As an involved and informed student and Cougar sports fan, I don’t know of any plans to retire his jersey, but I would encourage you to contact Athletic Director Jim Sterk at sterkj@wsu.edu to inquire about honoring Tony.

    All the best,
    Gabe

  4. glynis harps said

    Gabe,
    thanks so much for your thoughts.I will pass them on to his family. Tony was the really a nice man, good father , and excellent hooper. This is an enormous and devastating loss for our entire family and Tone’s numerous friends. TONY YOU WILL NEVER BE FORGOTTEN!!!!! The funeral is Friday and we are planning on wearing Cougar colors. Do you know were I can get the Cougar flags you can put on your car windows?
    I will contact the athletic director regarding honoring Tone.
    thanks again!

  5. Nuss said

    If you’re in the Seattle area, your best bet is the Washington State Connections store at the Westlake Shopping center.

  6. glynis harps said

    Nuss,
    thanks for the information,they have 60 flags.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
